Silvano Marisa MS.     

Very Reverend Silvano Marisa was born in Boccialdo di Trambileno (Trento), Italy, September 27, 1946, the last of four children of Eugenio and Rosalia Bisoffi. At the age of eleven, while his parish was celebrating the centennial of the small La Salette Shrine within its territory, he entered the Apostolic School in Salmata (Perugia), where he began the usual course of classical studies; after which he entered the Major Seminary in Torino (Turin). After these courses, his superiors sent him to Corps (France) for a year's novitiate (1966-67) and then on to Lyons for philosophy studies. After spending a year at the Apostolic School in Salmata as "animator of students," he was sent first to Rome for Theology Studies at the Gregorian University and then to Naples where a new La Salette community had just been established in the area of Soccavo, in the diocese of Pozzuoli. He brought his theological studies to an end by earning a license in Biblical theology at the Faculty of theology of Southern Italy sect. Posillipo. December 16, 1973, he was ordained priest in the parish church of "Immaculate Mary of La Salette" on Romulus and Remus Street in Naples, which had been entrusted to the pastoral care of the La Salette Missionaries. After six years as a teacher of religion in the upper school of Naples, he was chosen to represent the Italian province at the General Chapter of 1982 in Rome; there he was elected to the General Council. He has lived out his priestly vocation in the diocese of Pozzuoli, in Rome at the parish of "Our Lady of La Salette," in Salmata and in Verona. He was first elected provincial superior of the Italian Province of La Salettes in 1989, and then reelected for two more terms in 1992 and 2004. He was elected Vicar General of the Congregation at the General Chapter of 2006. Then, on April 24, 2012, the General Chapter elected him to serve the congregation as Superior General.


Past  Superiors General       To see photos Archier litle

2006-2012 R.P. Dennis J. Loomis

1994-2006 R.P. Isidro Augusto Perin

1988-1994 R.P. Ernest J. Corriveau

1982-1988 R.P. Eugene G. Barrette

1976-1982 R.P. Lionel R. LeMay

1970-1976 R.P. Emil Truffer

1964-1970 R.P. Conrad Blanchet

1958-1964 R.P. Joseph Alphonse Dutil

1946-1958 R.P. Joseph Imhof

1932-1945 R.P. Etienne-Xavier Cruveiller

1926-1932 R.P. Célestin Crozet

1913-1926 R.P. Pierre Pajot

1897-1913 R.P. Joseph Perrin

1891-1897 R.P. Auguste Chapuy

1876-1891 R.P. Pierre Archier

1865-1876 R.P. Sylvain-Marie Giraud

1858-1865 R.P. Pierre Archier

More in this category:

Go to top